Here comes Stanford semi-final and guess what I predicted right, Konta is in the semi-final. However, she didn't meet all the players I first thought she might (I.e 7th seed Alize Cornet - 51st in the world was knocked out prematurely). Konta, has outdone herself and proved once again why she has affirmed her place in the top 20 WTA players in the world. Even so, if Konta can make a run for the final at Stanford, she would climb to almost 15th in the world. This proves hard work and determination are attributes that can help a player make a name for themselves on the female tennis tour.
Konta will face Cibulkova and this is going to be a very difficult match for Konta. The last time she faced this player; she lost in straight sets. Cibulkova might be petite, but she still packs a punch and having won Eastbournce Aegon International and reaching the QF of Wimbledon, she will be a component difficult to beat. Cibulkova's win was some time ago, at the beginning of the year (Hobart) and since then Konta has taken down players in the top 20 (Kivitova in Eastbourne). So why can't she again? Her 1st serve percentage better be on form in order to tackle Cibulkova's return.
Konta will take fond memories from Stanford regardless, she has made the semi-final in both the doubles (with top 60's doubles player from the U.S - Maria Sanchez) and singles titles. She is yet to play either match - but let's hope the odds will be in her favour. Two finals great. One final, great. Two semi-finals, still great.
Konta has proved herself and consistently provides performances of class, 2016 has been her year and a WTA premier title would affirm her place in the top 15.
Needless to say, we have to face fact, Cibulkova is climbing back into a career best. This week she has moved back into the top 10 since last featuring in the top 10, 2 years ago at around the same time (summer). Just in time for Rio, I guess. And, with a year-to-date (YTD) of 33wins and under 13 losses, she looks in form for her first hard court title this year.
Ironically, I'm an optimist. Konta is going to win.
No comments:
Post a Comment